Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How Does Sugarbush Rank With You?

Okay, I'm a post-a-haulic tonight for some reason. Maybe its the thought of a big dump coming, or maybe its just the natural high I'm on from an awesome weekend of riding. Whatever the case....

How does the 'Bush rank in your books? Have we all ridden the Bush for years? Only a few? Do we go anywhere else (outside the Valley)?

Personally, I have been coming here since 1990. It was the Bush that made me want to move to VT from CT, a dream I realized two years ago. This is my first year with a Bush season pass (Mt Ellen) and while I go there about twice a week, I also try to get out to other areas, depending on discount tix I have. I was an ASC passholder for 2 years but scrapped that for this year, barely made it break even last year. Cost me too much $$$ in motor vehicle tix - the cops down south don't like us northerners. Okemo holds a place in my heart as it was the first mtn I snowboarded at and was easy for day-trips from CT.

Now, the Bush ranks highest on my list. I've been out 17 times so far (have to make a living) and of those times, 10 have been to the Bush while the other trips are mtns down south.

Just curious. That's all. I'm bored.

-Jay

Sugarbush is my favorite in the state. It has the best combination of groomers, bump runs, steeps, glades, natural beauty, natural and manmade snow and lifts. It now has the best lodge food in the state too thanks to the new Gate House, no doubt about that. Come to think of it SB is not just not my VT favorite, its my favorite for the entire east.

Stowe and Jay are tied for second in my book. Sugarloaf and Sunday River thereafter.

SB is tops for me, though Stowe is a close second, followed by MRG. The rest are all tied for last.

Reasonable people could switch the top three and I really wouldn't be able to argue. You could probably even get a few votes in there for Smuggs, Jay and, in a good year for coastal storms, Burke. The rest is just noise.