PDA

View Full Version : Audio Helmet Recommendations?

happygirl
11-02-2009, 02:50 AM
I'm looking for a good,comfortable audio helmet. Any thoughts?

gratefulskier
11-02-2009, 08:27 AM
This is certainly not the answer you want to hear, but I'd suggest that you just not do it.

Being able to hear other people who are close to you on the mountain is an important part of avoiding collisions and not getting hurt.

I know that I'll never win the argument with people who love to have their tunes while skiing or riding, but being an instructor, I always think about safety first. Going to the clinic is never fun. I would love to ski with tunes, but the risk just seems to high to me.

GS

Lostone
11-02-2009, 08:58 AM
1) Moved to Misc.

B) I would take a mid-point from grateful. Remember that control that controls the volume of the sound from the player. I like to listen to tunes (Cheap version, with earbuds, so I have no knowledge of the audio helmets.) while I ski, but he is right. The most important thing is to know what is around you.

You can keep the sounds to be a background... And you should. Your body might be more important that the song. :wink:

happygirl
11-02-2009, 08:58 AM
Thank you. I appreciate your input.

happygirl
11-02-2009, 09:21 AM
Its fine if you just use them when your at the bottom of the hill eating lunch or on the lift and your not actually in motion.

vonski
11-02-2009, 09:25 AM
my Giro has good comfortable audio capabilities. they are built into the earmuffs and wires run inside. I have never used it though so cannot attest to the sound quality, but I also know that u can buy them after the fact and pull out the old ear muffs and put in the ones that they make for audio. Could work well with talkabouts too! I think.

ski_resort_observer
11-02-2009, 07:17 PM