PDA

View Full Version : Happy 50th, Sugarbush!

BushMogulMaster
12-11-2008, 10:32 PM
Just felt inclined to take a second and wish our favorite resort a happy 50th! Of course, the actual date isn't until 12/25, but with this weekend's celebrations, I think it's appropriate to mention now.

The history of our mountains is so rich, so unique, and so very exciting. Even through the more "difficult" periods (ASC), Sugarbush has been able to bounce back and prove to the world (I.E., Today Show) that it truly is Better Here. I can't think of anywhere I'd rather be right now. Sugarbush is what got me into the ski industry. Following my dad around the hill, riding in snowcats, climbing up into lift motor rooms, making little adjustments to the water hydrants, even shoveling off the Mt. Ellen stairs! If it weren't for Sugarbush, I would have likely taken a very different career path. So while I am relatively new to the resort (4 years or so, now), I have made a point to really get to know the heritage, history, and people who have made this resort so great. From Sara and Damon Gadd and Jack Murphy, right through to Win Smith and Summit Ventures.

Sugarbush is one of those few places that just feels right. I grew up in central Pennsylvania, and lived there for about 14 years in all (plus a couple years at Killington as a young child). Not more than a few weeks after moving to the Valley, I knew I was home. I have since spent time in Colorado at some of the world's most renowned resorts: Vail, Beaver Creek, Breckenridge, Steamboat, Winter Park, Copper Mountain. But here I am again, back at home. I am at the mountain every day, either skiing, pounding nails, or in a snowcat. I hope to spend many years to come at this great ski resort, and foresee a fantastic future leading to another 50 years of the best skiing in the East!