PDA

View Full Version : Re: 7/8 visit to base

HowieT2
07-10-2006, 03:56 PM
Stopped off at the base on saturday 7/8 to check out the construction. As a caveat, I am no expert on these matters, but what I saw, and didn't see, was disconcerting. First of all, it doesn't appear they have made much progress on the new base lodge. The framing is not even close to being done. Considering they tore down the old structure in April, I would have thought there would be significantly more progress.

There appears to be a round foundation which has no structure on it at all. I may be crazy, but Timbers has not even been started.

They also put in a new road for a fire water reservior above the Snow Creek condos. The road starts between the upper level of the condos and the slope where the little shack is. It runs to an opening cut into the woods. There were a couple of construction guys there and they said the road is going to be paved. I would sincerely hope that this road is skiable in the winter.

Someone please tell me that the new lodge will be ready this winter.

noski
07-10-2006, 04:24 PM
I am sure Win will chime in soon.....

Tin Woodsman
07-10-2006, 04:50 PM
I'm not worried at all. It's over two months until the first frost, three months until the first snow, and almost five months before they open for primetime at South. I am confident they'll be ready.

Treeskier
07-10-2006, 07:47 PM
When I watched the fire works on Monday evening there was no steel up. But by Thursday on my hike up Snowball to have lunch on top of Spring Fling they had all ready flew lots of steel on both the new Gatehouse and new work on Timbers. They where actively digging the hill behind Gatehouse out. They also where digging out the new water plant area between snowball and cats meow. The fire works were very nice!

Spooked a couple of turkeys on the hike up but got to see a couple flying below us looking down Spring Fling. Very cool visual.